Laura the Letterer

I wanted to share a freelance assignment I did back in December.  The incredibly talented artist Alex Hananel asked me if I would re-do the lettering for her graphic novel, River Dreams, to which I said, “YES!!!!”  I’m a big fan of Alex’s work and I was very excited to give the words a fresh, readable makeover.  She wanted to have it done within a week in order to have it printed for an author’s expo, so the timing was tight, but I really overhauled to make it happen.  I hand-lettered the narration in cursive and the dialogue in block capitals.  The print size is about 2/3 the actual size I was working on, so I had to be very careful and neat in order to maximize legibility.  Check out the before/after of some of the pages below.

Before:

After:

Before:

After:

Before:

After:

Before:

After:

You can view the entirety of the comic below:

River Dreams (Re-Lettered)

One thought on “Laura the Letterer

Leave a Reply

