Contemporary Dollhouse Building

…Or, what I’ve been spending all my free time on in the last few weeks.  It is time, world.  I confess to you my dorkiest hobby: I, Laura Fisher, enjoy designing and building contemporary dollhouses.

But first, let me make a few things clear:

  1. I do not make dolls for my dollhouses.  There are two types of dolls: the ones that fall short of realistic and look cheesy and lame, and the ones that are too realistic and just look downright creepy.  I am not a doll person.  Dolls kind of give me the heebie-jeebies, to be honest.
  2. I’m very interested in interior design, and this is a way for me to experiment with this passion without painting an entire room bright magenta (see below) in real life, or dropping five figures on expensive contemporary furniture.  I liken what I’m doing to creating an architectural model of ideal interior designs.
  3. A lot of people think dollhouses are lame because they associate them with children. The things I build are not meant for children, nor are they suitable for children.  Hella mass small parts + very fragile components + electrical wiring + you better believe I’m not painting anything an obnoxious shade of bright pink = NOT FOR KIDS.

Anyway, I just started building a new house, and I’ve decided to have my camera take a snapshot of my progress every few minutes.  When it’s done, I hope to make a GIF of the entire process so you can see it go from start to finish in a matter of minutes.  But for now, here are a few images documenting my progress so far.

I’ve actually gotten a little further than this but I haven’t had time to upload the photos.  More to come, I promise!

Leave a Reply

