Residency Applications

As I mentioned before, I’ve been applying for artist residencies.  Most of the ones I’ve been looking at would occur in the summer in either France or Germany.  They’re pretty competitive, so my chances of actually getting one are very slim.  But since I spend so much time on each application, it will make me feel a little better to at least share it with you guys.

Here’s a peek at the application I sent to Künstlerhaus Dortmund:

Plus ten images mounted on black matte board, like so:

Suddenly,

Why yes, 13th US President Millard Fillmore, I sure did!

What’s that?  It’s a handmade, lined portfolio box covered with black bookcloth?  AWW YEAH.

And yet, everyone I showed this stuff to is like, “Why are you trying so hard?  You know that’s probably going in the trash, right?”  UHH, THANKS GUYS.

(Yeah, I do know that.  But I’m a huge perfectionist.  Come on.)

Anyway, I’m not sure how to end this post, so here’s an awesome clip from 30 Rock.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zxk_P3PNuZU

YAYYY

2 thoughts on “Residency Applications

  1. I love the box. Ruchi can expand on my love of boxes. You’ll have to show me how you made your when we meet next. -Prachi

Leave a comment